SM Supermalls and Commission on Elections (COMELEC) have officially teamed up to provide voters with more registration venues at SM. After signing a Memorandum of Agreement for the Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) Election last July 19, 2022 at the Event Center of SM City Manila, COMELEC has opened satellite registration centers in SM Supermalls nationwide.

In attendance were Comelec Commissioner, Hon. Aimee P. Ferolino, Comelec Deputy Executive Director for Operations, Atty. Teopisto E. Elnas Jr., Comelec Director for Election and Barangay Affairs, Atty. Divina E. Blas-Perez, Comelec Director for Education and Information, Mr. James B. Jimenez; SM Supermalls President Mr. Steven T. Tan; and SM Supermalls Senior Vice President for Operations Mr. Bien C. Mateo.

The Launch for the “VOTERS REGISTRATION FOR BRGY & SK ELECTION AND VOTER EDUCATION PROGRAM” urge eligible voters to register for the December 5 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan polls.

Which SM Supermalls will participate?

The “VOTERS REGISTRATION FOR BRGY & SK ELECTION AND VOTER EDUCATION PROGRAM” was assured to be supported by all 76 SM Supermalls by providing an accessible and efficient registration experience and comfortable venue for the education of new registrants and currently active electorate. Local Comelec offices would oversee the running of demonstrations within the SM malls, Comelec’s sole partner in the VOTER REGISTRATION initiative.

In the National Capital Region (NCR), 23 SM malls were participating, namely SM Megamall, SM North Edsa, SM Mall of Asia, SM Aura, SM Southmall, SM Valenzuela, SM Sangandaan, SM Fairview, SM Novaliches, SM San Jose Del Monte, Cherry Foodarama Congressional, SM Santa Mesa, SM Manila, SM San Lazaro, SM East Ortigas, SM Marikina, SM Center Las Piñas, SM Bicutan, SM Muntinlupa, SM Sucat, SM Hypermarket Lopez, SM BF Parañaque, SM Center Pasig.

In Central Luzon, 13 malls were participating, specifically SM Cabanatuan, SM Tarlac, SM Olongapo, SM Olongapo-Central, SM Pampanga, SM Clark, SM San Fernando, SM Telabastagan, SM Marilao, SM Pulilan, SM Megacenter Cabanatuan, SM Cauayan and SM Baliwag.

In Northern Luzon, 5 malls were participating, particularly SM Baguio, SM Rosales, SM Urdaneta, SM Dagupan and SM Tuguegarao.

In Southern Luzon, 20 malls were participating: SM Molino, SM Dasmariñas, SM Bacoor, SM Marketmall Dasmariñas, SM Center Imus, SM Rosario, SM Trece Martires, SM Santa Rosa, SM San Pablo, SM Calamba, SM Batangas, SM Lipa, SM Lemery, SM Taytay, SM Angono, SM Masinag, SM San Mateo, SM Puerto Princesa, SM Naga and SM Legaspi.

In Central Visayas, 4 malls were participating: SM Cebu, SM Consolacion, SM Hypermarket Lapu-Lapu and SM Seaside Cebu.

In Western Visayas, 3 malls joined the initiative: SM Iloilo, SM Bacolod and SM Roxas.

In Eastern Visayas, 2 malls also joined the initiative: SM Tacloban and SM Ormoc.

And in Mindanao, 6 malls were part of the program: SM Cagayan de Oro, SM CDO Downtown, SM General Santos, SM Davao, SM Lanang Premier and SM Butuan.

When will it occur?

The SM Supermalls that will participate in this activity will hold their Voter Registration from July 17 – 24, 2022 and the Voter’s Education will hold from August 1 to November 30, 2022.

This aims to help ease and unburden voter registration traffic in barangays, providing the public a more convenient, faster and safer way to avail of your right to vote. Register now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *