LA-based artist / producer Peter $un returns with his new EP, ‘Phone Calls Gimme Anxiety’ out now via Red Bull Records / Mind Of A Genius. Creating the project was a therapeutic and transformative endeavour for Peter $un. The rapper, vocalist, producer, and mental health advocate channeled everything from his experiences and emotions navigating his career to the loss of his brother to drug addiction into the music. He elaborates, “This is my most vulnerable. I feel like it’s my growing process from ‘Scumbaby’. It’s a cocoon phase before the album where the transformation happens. This project was a venting moment for me and a closing chapter on my past.

Released during Minority Mental Health Awareness Month (July), ‘Phone Calls Gimme Anxiety’ opens with lead single “Metamorphosis (Butterfly)”, an intentional and aspirational piece about embracing change and manifesting evolution. Sunny shares, “This was inspired by an energy of renewal. This was one of the first songs I wrote after my brother passing that I spoke on it at all. It was like a release of pent-up emotions and just throwing it all out. The message is growth. Learning how to deal with growing pains and becoming the person I see myself as and leaving the old me behind.

Throughout the six-track EP, Peter $un expresses themes of personal growth, self-awareness, escapism, and retribution before ending with “U Smell Like Da Color Yellow” — an eloquent nod to the neo-soul movement and his mother, who first introduced him to the power of music as therapy.

Peter $un commits all of his emotions, thoughts, and truths to tape. He never holds back. The Los Angeles-based rapper, vocalist, and producer confronts his trauma, discloses his ambitions, and embraces his potential over a soundtrack of future-facing hip-hop laced with eloquent jazz-style instrumentation and filled to the brim with undeniable soul.

In high school, a friend recognized he could sing and encouraged him, so he picked up a mic. He gained traction with the 2016 mixtape ‘Paradise Is A Day Away’. Joined by producer and longtime collaborator BlueRondo, he unveiled ‘Don’t Forget To Smile’ in 2018. The project boasted “Love Drunk Lust (Make It Hard)” [feat. Trip Carter & KnottRudy], raking in 3.9 million Spotify streams and counting.

2021 saw him unveil ‘Scumbaby’, including fan favourites “Work” and “Sometimes”. Inciting widespread tastemaker applause, OkayPlayer hailed it as “an introspective exploration of rap fused with jazz and soul,” and KAZI crowned him “a creative music force.” After generating millions of streams and earning acclaim from OnesToWatch, Lyrical Lemonade, DJ Booth, and more, he bleeds without filter on his 2022 EP, ‘Phone Calls Gimme Anxiety’ via Mind of a Genius and Red Bull Records.

‘Phone Calls Give Me Anxiety’  Tracklisting

1. Metamorphosis (Butterfly)
2. I Need 2 Smoke
3. Things Can’t Stay the Same
4. Pay Me No Mind
5. Tryna Figure Things Out
6. U Smell Like Da Color Yellow

Stream the EP ‘Phone Calls Gimme Anxiety’ here:

Watch the music video for “Metamorphosis (Butterfly)” here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *